Skip to content

Get ready for Char Dham 2021


chardham yatra rishikesh 2020
Get ready for the sacred Char Dham Yatra!

We recommend you book well in advance to ensure your requirements for the trip can be fulfilled. Many have already planned their journey and tourists from various backgrounds are expected, ranging from religious travellers and young adventurers to the high-end guests, including foreign visitors, who look for new, off-beat destinations and want to experience the spiritual powerspots of India.

Experience the divinity and mysticism of these sacred shrines as we take you on a journey through the Garwhal region of Uttarakhand, the state in North India, also called ‘Dev Bhumi’, the Abode of Gods! With its picturesque surroundings, mountain climate (Himalayas), dense forests, large valleys and enthralling environment, the region allows you to unwind yet experience the majestic locations of this popular pilgrimage route.

Sohan Tours & Travel offer pilgrimage packages tailored to YOUR needs – from 3 days to 12 days. Choose your preferred time frame, vehicle and accommodation. English or Hindi speaking tour guides available.

Contact us for further information and bookings. 
call: +91 9557 4177 65 or: +91 9358 5748 61

himalaya sunbeam

The Char Dham Yatra opening dates 2021:
Gangotri Temple Kapat open on 15. May 2021
Yamunotri Temple Kapat open on 14. May 2021
Kedarnath Temple Kapat open on 17. May 2021
Badarinath Temple Kapat open on 18. May 2021
The tentative closing dates of Char Dham: November.

Destinations can cover:
Haridwar, Rishikesh, Barkot, Yamunotri, Uttarkashi, Rudraprayag, Gangotri, Guptkashi, Kedarnath, Badrinath, Joshimath, Devprayag, Chopta, Haridwar, Delhi

Travel tips:
Book well in advance.
Carry only minimum luggage.
Carry drinking water and snacks with you in case of longer traffic jams.
Respect nature, avoid plastic waste and keep rubbish to a minimum.
Respect local customs.
Take a light rain coat/umbrella, torch, a warm jumper and socks.

yatra char dham

Background information: Char Dham is referred to the most sacred Hindu pilgrimage of India nestled in Indian Himalayas of Uttarakhand state of India. Yamunotri, Gangotri, Sri Kedarnathji and Sri Badrinathji, collectively referred to as the Char Dham (four pilgrimage centres). Traditionally, the Chardham yatra is undertaken from the west to the east follows the Hindu tradition of parikrama, thus the yatra starts from Yamunotri, then proceeding to Gangotri, then Kedarnath and culminating the journey at Badrinath. Devotees also visit Gurudwara Sri Hemkund Sahib Ji the pilgrimage site for the Sikhs, and is one of the highest located religious sites in the country. 

Yatra Map

Shri Badrinath Dham: is considered the holiest of the four important shrines. The town is at an altitude of 3,133 m. above sea level, situated on the left bank of river Alaknanda and exactly between the two mountains Nara and Narayan and the shadow of Nilkantha peak. The shrine is dedicated to Vishnu the preserver and protector of the Hindu Divine Trinity. 

Shri Kedarnath Dham: The Kedarnath shrine, one of the 12 jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva, Kedar is another name of Lord Shiva, the protector and the destroyer. According to legend, the Pandavas after having won over the Kaurava in the Kurukshetra war, felt guilty of having killed their own brothers and sought the blessings of Lord Shiva for redemption. He eluded them repeatedly and while fleeing took refuge at Kedarnath in the form of a bull. On being followed he dived into the ground, leaving his hump on the surface. The remaining portions of Lord Shiva appeared at four other places and are worshipped there as his manifestations. The arms appeared at Tungnath, the face at Rudranath, the belly at Madhmaheshwar and his locks (hair) with head at Kalpeshwar. Kedarnath and the four above-mentioned shrines are treated as Panch Kedar. It is where Lord Shiva manifested himself in the form of light, it is the third of the four dhams.

Gangotri Dham: The Shrine of Gangotri situated at an elevation of 3200 m above sea level amidst captivating surroundings along the right bank of Bhagirathi is 100 km from Uttarkashi. The temples opening is preceded by a special Puja of Ganga both inside the temple as well as on the river bank. Gangotri, the source of the Ganges river and seat of Goddess Ganga; 

Yamunotri Dham: is the Source of Yamunotri River and the seat of Godess Yamuna, it is the western shrine in the Garhwal Himalayas, the main attraction at Yamunotri is the temple devoted to the Goddess Yamuna and the holy thermal springs at Janki Chatti. The temple of Yamuna, on the left bank of the Yamuna, was constructed by Maharaja Pratap Shah of Tehri Garhwal. The deity is made of black marble. The Yamuna, like the Ganges, has been elevated to the status of a divine mother for the Hindus and has been held responsible for nurturing and developing the Indian civilization.

The Garhwal Himalayas: are mountain ranges located in the state of Uttarakhand and covers the districts of Chamoli, Pauri Garhwal and Rudraprayag. Magnificient nature, dense forests and lush terraced valleys, breathtaking mountain peaks and glaciers. Garhwal has more than 20 summits over 6000 m, the highest are Nanda Devi (7817 m) and Kamet (7756 m), rich flora and fauna plus a range of beautiful temples, which are off the mainstream paths, almost hidden gems. Uttarakhand is also revered as the ‘Land of the gods’ (Dev Bhoomi) and every mountain, place, rock and stream of Uttarakhand is somewhat associated with the mythological background of India. Garhwalis relate every peak, lake or mountain range to a God or Goddess, mythological personality, event or saint. Gangotri is for example connected with the legend of Ganga descending from heaven. And Agastyamuni, Srinagar, Parkandi (Khat Sali, Jaunsar), Dewalgarh and Rudraprayag are considered to be sacred because sages like Agastya, Kapil, Parashar, Dattatreya and Vishwamitra had done penance there. (Source: The Holy Himalaya: A Geographical Interpretation of Garhwal by Nitya Nand, Kamlesh Kumar).

Haridwar: is an important pilgrimage city, companioned by river Ganges. The river Ganges after flowing for 253 km from its source at Gaumukh, enters the Indo-Gangetic Plains of North India for the first time at Haridwar, which gave the city its ancient name, Gangadwára. Haridwar is viewed as one of the seven holiest places to Hindus. Amidst the Kumbha Mela, millions of pilgrims, devotees, and tourists congregate in Haridwar to perform ritualistic bathing on the banks of the river Ganges to wash away their sins. Brahma Kund is located at Har ki Pauri and is considered to be the most sacred ghat of Haridwar.
Check also:

Rishikesh: is located in the foothills of the Himalayas and is known as ‘The Gateway to the Himalayas’. Rishikesh is located about 25 km north of holy city, Haridwar. Legends state that Lord Rama did penance here for killing Ravana, and Lakshmana, his younger brother, crossed the river Ganges, at a point, where the present ‘Lakshman Jhula’ bridge stands today. The sacred river Ganges flows through Rishikesh and leaves the Shivalik Mountains in the Himalayas, flowing out into the plains of northern India. Several temples, ancient with new are found along the banks of the Ganges in Rishikesh.
check also:

rishikesh sunset

#chardham2021 #chardhamyatra #yatra2021 #himalayapilgrimage #yatraseason2021 #chardham #gangotri #kedarnath #yamunotri #badrinath #uttarakhandtours

Source: Uttarakhand Tourist Boards; 
All photos © Sohan Tours & Travel, Rishikesh.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Char Dham opens! | Sohan Tours & Travel

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: